You are here

Great Lakes bay at sunset

Explore the general status and trends in essential ecological attributes (EEAs), human activities, and conservation activities for three habitat types in the Great Lakes basin. Inland aquatic ecosystems includes inland lakes, wetlands, and fens within the region, while Great Lakes systems refers to the lakes themselves and terrestrial covers the land within the watershed. Each set of articles covers both large-scale and small-scale ecosystems. For example, inland aquatic ecosystems are described a) across the entire Great Lakes watershed, b) for each individual Great Lake watershed, and c) for each individual subwatershed (e.g., Muskegon River watershed). You can use these hierarchical descriptions as context for comparing regions across the Great Lakes and to understand the relative importance of ecological attributes, human disturbances, and conservation actions within and among different regions.


Sturgeon River, Michigan Upper Peninsula
Floating leaf on Lake Superior
Porcupine Mountains, Michigan Upper Peninsula